Pilgrims and Allegories Jonathan Livingstone Seagull by Richard Bach

JLseagullI first read Jonathan Livingstone Seagull at an impressionable age but recently rediscovered it whilst living in Fife a couple of years ago. (I’m back there now but that’s another story.)

In my view this little book stands with the GREATS OF ALL TIME. 

Jonathan was unlike normal seagulls. Instead of pursuing the main goal of a typical seagull to search for food, he wanted to learn to fly – and I mean fly – to do acrobats in the sky with ever greater complexity and skill. He became outcast and was, for a while, alone – until he had an accident. Defying death he reached a higher plane and it was at this point that the allegory became obvious as a blue print for life.

I woke up today looking out over the Forth watching a seagull dip and dive and thought of Jonathan.

I can recommend this book for anyone who has come to a crossroads, feels that they are destined to be different from the norm, or who just loves the sea and wildlife.

I seem to recall that it was put to film with the lyrics by Neil Diamond.

Hey yes! Like Jonathan Livingstone Seagull, ‘It’s Timeless!’

About Diana Jackson

Author of 'The Healing Paths of Fife', Historical Romantic fiction ~ The Riduna Series set in 19th and early 20th Century a murder mystery ~ 'Murder, Now and Then' and two memoir. What links my books ~ history! Website:www.dianamaryjackson.co.uk Blog:www.dianamj.wordpress.com Riduna on Twitter and on Facebook too!
Gallery | This entry was posted in A Message, allegories, Book review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pilgrims and Allegories Jonathan Livingstone Seagull by Richard Bach

  1. Thanks Diana, I’ve never really been tempted to read the book till now, I never really knew what it was about. Not that I’m particularly at a crossroads in my life, but the book appeals to me 🙂
    Hope you are having a great time in Fife, and that you and your family have a wonderful Christmas 🙂

  2. flylady33 says:

    I can’t wait to read your books. Your blog posts are wonderful. I really like your list by months what you want to accomplish. I plan to write a list like you. I am so glad you posted the lists because it’s a great way to plan my blog and my historical novel that I am writing.

    • I needed to clarify everything in my own mind. It is a bit risky to put in on my blog but seems more compelling then. I’ve begin to work on my friend’s novel and we are getting closer to finding me a work space to write in our new home. I’ll check back again at the end of the month. Good luck with your writing and I look forward to hearing about your progress.

Leave a Reply

