Action association ~ When you do something does it send you into a memory?

Cheers!

Cheers!

I was gardening this morning from 6 am. I love that time of the morning when the sun is coming up and the ducks and geese make their noisy way overhead to their daytime feeding ground. I also enjoy the satisfaction of  doing a couple of hours before breakfast. It gives you that sense of well being to start the day.

Anyway, I have lots of weeds in my garden at the moment but I couldn’t help but pause when I pulled up several stems of groundsel…that’s what I’ve always called it anyway. It has little leaves, small yellow flowers and lots of fluffy seed-heads if you let it go.

I was suddenly transported back to Newtown Lane Woolston, Southampton where my grandma lived, and on frequent visits when I was tiny we used to look for groundsel in the garden to take to two old ladies along the road. I called them Aunty Bell and Aunty Daisy but they were only distant relatives. Their budgies loved it and used to make such a racket when we fed the weed to them. You’d think it was caviar! I remember a very dark room and we used sit down in sagging old chairs and drink an orange squash before walking back to grandma’s.

Cutting the edge of the grass gives me another memory. Norman (See The Life and Demise of Norman Campbell) loved his garden too and the grass was a bit of an obsession for him. He would often cut out bits of turf and reseed it or grow grass in a seed tray, tend it with a pair of nail scissors – yes nail scissors – and when it was ready carefully replace the turf a small square at a time. Mine is more like a meadow though. You mustn’t look too close.

Then there’s runner beans. I have to grow them for my dad. He’d never forgive me if I didn’t although last year we went away for a weekend and a deer had shredded them up to waist height! The pesky things.

Then coming inside to have a nice cup of tea I reach out for a bone china mug – another

elderly friend pops into my head. I could tell you lots of stories about my friend Fred. Maybe I will one day. Anyway, he’d only drink tea out of a bone china mug and I bought a couple to have in the cupboard just for him – all those years ago.

Cheers! There’s nothing like a cuppa at the start of the day!DSCN2267[1]

(I’m fibbing ~ I’m actually writing this post in the evening and this is my night sky – lovely!)

About Diana Jackson

Author of 'The Healing Paths of Fife', Historical Romantic fiction ~ The Riduna Series set in 19th and early 20th Century a murder mystery ~ 'Murder, Now and Then' and two memoir. What links my books ~ history! Website:www.dianamaryjackson.co.uk Blog:www.dianamj.wordpress.com Riduna on Twitter and on Facebook too!
This entry was posted in Here and Now, Life and Hope, Memoirs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

