Why I Would like to Borrow Thanksgiving Day

Celtic Cross on Iona

Celtic Cross on Iona

I know it’s not appropriate, (since it’s the celebration of independence from us Brits) but I would truly like to borrow Thanksgiving Day from our cousins across the pond for so many reasons:

  • I would love a day once a year to focus on being thankful ~ to husband, family, friends, colleagues, the postman, the road sweeper ~ in fact everyone who affects my life and others.
  • I would love a day to be thankful for what I have and to understand that it is likely I can manage quite well with things I don’t have.
  • I would love a day to be thankful for good health and to think a little more of those who are not so fortunate. (Is there more I can do? Give a donation? Visit a sick friend? Provide a meal for someone who needs it or just bake a cake to give away.)
  • I would love a day to be thankful for who I am and what I have been able to achieve, rather than dwell on that ‘just out of reach’ dream.
  • I would love a dayย when I could avoid stress ~ slow down ~ pause a while and reflect ~ away from traffic ~ the internet even ~ just to be.

You see, I know I should be thinking all these things everyday, but to indulge one day of every year on such thoughts might have an impact on how I view the other 364 days.

So, to my friends across the pond and American relations too, I am happy for you to keep Halloween and all those Christmas lights covering every crevasse of the front of your houses, or even Fathers’ Day, Teachers’ Day, Aunties’ Day et al, but please please can we borrow Thanksgiving Day here in Britain and make it our own?

I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow as I take my car to be fixed and get on with the day, but nevertheless I wish you a lovely Thanksgiving Day. May you be truly blessed!

About Diana Jackson

Author of 'The Healing Paths of Fife', Historical Romantic fiction ~ The Riduna Series set in 19th and early 20th Century a murder mystery ~ 'Murder, Now and Then' and two memoir. What links my books ~ history! Website:www.dianamaryjackson.co.uk Blog:www.dianamj.wordpress.com Riduna on Twitter and on Facebook too!
Gallery | This entry was posted in A Message, Here and Now, Life and Hope and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I Would like to Borrow Thanksgiving Day

  1. Pat says:

    Yes, yes, yes — I love this, Diana, you can borrow all you like. Sending over across the pond all the American Thanksgiving wishes and blessings to you and your family donned with our turkey and all the dressings, pumpkin pie, green bean casserole, cranberry sauce, deviled eggs and yams.

    Will be thinking of you as we watch our football and gather around the table to give thanks. God bless you and yours from my home to yours — this is for you.

  2. Hi Pat What a lovely message. I love pumpkin pie. Used to have American neighbours and they always invited us in for a slice but they live too far away now. Enjoy your day my friend ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

