Two Meaningful Anniversaries ~ Leaving Pettycur and Kinghorn

Tomorrow is our last day in Kinghorn, for the time being anyway. We already plan to come back up in August and it seemed quite fitting that I was delivering leaflets about Kinghorn Summer Show for 30th August because it was the first event we ever attended last year, two days before we moved in. (You will be reading this on 29th August, nearly the anniversary from our timely arrival here at Pettycur Bay, when we could not believe our luck to be living in such a lovely place!)

‘You’ve come a long way since then,’ my husband remarked. One year on from being just visitors we have made tiny steps to being part of the community. Mind you, in recent weeks I’ve stepped back a little, pending our departure.

Kinghorn Harbour

Kinghorn Harbour

It has been a beautiful day although the mist, which was fog first thing, has hovered over the horizon ~ Edinburgh disappearing then reappearing at intervals throughout the day. It’s truly mesmerising at times. The Forth is calm ~ the water lapping gently on the shore and the warmth of the sun is shedding coat layers.

I’ve spent the day washing, packing and cleaning, and it is almost as if I’m removing any sign that we were ever here, but I suppose that is always the case for rented property. I can’t imagine not looking out on the view before me. I will miss it dearly.

I walked up to town popping down to the Wee Shoppe at Kinghorn Harbour for a chat about Scottish heritage, the Coastal Path and the novels of Nigel Tranter. Intellectual stuff! Then I headed for the COOP and bought some smoked salmon and egg mayonnaise to have with salad.

Early this morning I heard the excellent news that my manuscript and cover for my murder mystery has passed the scrutiny of Createspace. A huge wave of relief flooded over me because I have run out of time to put it right. With the paperback launch promised in June this gives just enough time for the proof copies to be printed, checked and approved and these should land on our doormat by the time we return south in Bedfordshire.

I was reminded by a friend that it was a year ago this week that we were handed out our offers for voluntary redundancy. How times have changed and Pettycur has weaved its magic in the healing process of letting go of a lifetime teaching, departing under a cloud of cutbacks and closures, which has been painful in all honesty.

We are not going ‘home’ straight away. No. That would have been too sad. We are  travelling around the Western Isles for nearly two weeks- Ullapool, Harris and Lewis, Skye, Mull and Iona and only then will we head south. We will be celebrating my husband’s possible retirement (or sabbatical) and my book launch, but first we are both looking forward to the wee break.

Not that our time here has not been one big break. I’m not going to think about the future until it’s arrived but just enjoy today!

About Diana Jackson

Author of 'The Healing Paths of Fife', Historical Romantic fiction ~ The Riduna Series set in 19th and early 20th Century a murder mystery ~ 'Murder, Now and Then' and two memoir. What links my books ~ history! Website:www.dianamaryjackson.co.uk Blog:www.dianamj.wordpress.com Riduna on Twitter and on Facebook too!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Here and Now, Life and Hope, Living the Dream, Memoirs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

