Double Me ~ North Me and South Me

(I’m definitely a Gemini ~ frequently at least two different people. Do you ever feel that you are two quite distinct persona? Since scheduling this post my feet have not touched the ground down in Bedfordshire and it is strange to look back on this scheduled post of my recent months up in Fife)

Since I came back from my monthly trip down south this March I’ve been content to remain indoors for a couple of days working.

DSCN0494Friends brought me back up to Fife and it was lovely that they stayed for the weekend. This was a double blessing because not only did I have company on the long drive, but also their visit bridged the gap between North Me and South Me.  South Me involves a frenzy of activity, visiting as many friends and family as I can pack into five days without a car. On the other hand North Me is a quiet contemplative life, where my main focus is my writing projects, at least one walk a day and the occasional activity I choose to be a part of; a real writer’s retreat here at Pettycur.

We spent last weekend entertaining  friends with numerous walk to our favourite spots in Fife, a cheerful interlude when North Me and South Me seamlessly converged. Since then I have chosen to soak up the tranquillity of my world here, apart from the wind that is, and refresh my spirit. So drained and run down was I on my return that my soul was craving solitude and healing.

This afternoon, feeling much refreshed and renewed, I glanced at the sinking daylight across the Firth of Forth, from my vantage point of three floors up. It spurred me to dash outside with only a thin fleece on. Big mistake. It was perishing and so to keep warm I enjoyed a brisk walk along the beach before snuggling back inside again.

Soon we have  short trip to Malliag to plan for ~ our next Scottish adventure ~ but for now I’m just enjoying the here and now and being at peace with my own little world.

I only have six more weeks here, but I will try to treasure every moment if I can.

(Are you ever not just a split personality but almost a ‘split person’?)

About Diana Jackson

Author of 'The Healing Paths of Fife', Historical Romantic fiction ~ The Riduna Series set in 19th and early 20th Century a murder mystery ~ 'Murder, Now and Then' and two memoir. What links my books ~ history! Website:www.dianamaryjackson.co.uk Blog:www.dianamj.wordpress.com Riduna on Twitter and on Facebook too!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Here and Now, Life and Hope, Living the Dream and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Double Me ~ North Me and South Me

  1. Pat says:

    I’m sharing your soaking up the tranquility, Diana. I’ve doing the same here and it’s good to see you’re feeling refreshed and renewed. Enjoy hearing about your adventures in Scotland and getting a peek at what it’s like there.

Leave a Reply

