Home from Home

It’s 7.30 on a Saturday morning in February. The tide is out and the view is like a black and white photo, all shades of grey in the twilight. Only the lights of Edinburgh to my left, Burntisland to my right and probably Inverkeithing in the far distance, splattering the dark grey coastline with twinkling yellow. Except for the Christmas Tree in the centre of my vision, that is. Let me explain. It’s still there, the oil accommodation platform that is, and I’m still teased about it.DSCN0741

‘If I were younger I’d sail over to tell them to move it,’ one elderly friend from the Friday Lunch Club, where I volunteer a happy interlude of my week, said last week and he laughed. Each day when I see vessels in the vicinity I wonder if it is going to be moved, but it’s still there, marring an otherwise perfect view.

What surprises me, though, is that there’s so much light here; no buildings or even hills to cast a shadow. I can just see the snow capped mountains in the distance and feel at peace. I’m sitting here typing but I’m also thinking. Only two and a half months to go and I know it will pass by so quickly. And then what? Return to Bedfordshire and file our memories into a cheerful pink folder in the corner of our brains, or something else.

I can hear my opening sentence in a conversation of the future, ‘When we were living in Fife,’ I’d begin to say. We’ve already begun to wonder if Kinghorn could play a greater part in our lives in the future. My husband would move up here today, given the opportunity. It is only me ~ who clings to family, friends and familiar routines of our lives down south. And yet now I do have my own routine here; to the greater part a solitary one – but that’s no bad thing for a writer. I’ve made friends, become involved in the community and felt at one with my surroundings.

We’ve even begun a tentative search for property. Do you do that on a holiday you’ve truly enjoyed? Look in estate agents windows and allow yourself to dream that it could go on forever. Some people grasp their dreams and make them a reality don’t they?  An experience both exciting and scary I should think. Mind you, both of us are of the opinion that it will work itself out if it’s meant to be. If we find the right place we’re sure we’ll know.

From my last post my reality has shifted and I feel totally at home here but how can that be? We shall see.

DSCN0494(ps the oil platform finally left the weekend we moved away from Pettycur. Funnily enough it was difficult to adjust – it was like airbrushing a photograph!)

About Diana Jackson

Author of 'The Healing Paths of Fife', Historical Romantic fiction ~ The Riduna Series set in 19th and early 20th Century a murder mystery ~ 'Murder, Now and Then' and two memoir. What links my books ~ history! Website:www.dianamaryjackson.co.uk Blog:www.dianamj.wordpress.com Riduna on Twitter and on Facebook too!
Gallery | This entry was posted in A Message, Here and Now, Living the Dream, Memoirs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home from Home

  1. Eric W Smith says:

    There’s no place like home, wherever you decide it may be.

    • It is strange that I felt ‘at home’ almost as soon as we arrived in Kinghorn – they call it the Kinghorn magic. It has a peace that draws you to it. This doesn’t help though, when I feel just as ‘at home’ in Bedfordshire. Thanks for dropping by Eric.

Leave a Reply

