Lights in the Night ~ Blacker than Black Rock Race

Tonight (about six months ago)  there was an extraordinary sight at Pettycur Bay. Initially, as I drove down towards the harbour, I thought there might have been an accident, but no, a large group of people with torches looked as if they were ready for a run. It was pitch black out there! What on earth were they doing?

Disorientated after a flying visit back to Bedfordshire this week to see my parents – also to sweep up leaves ~ check the guttering (well I held the ladder) and see friends – last night I came back to Kinghorn. It was the worst journey so far – plane running late and train delayed so I woke up this morning feeling really strange with a tension headache. I always feel weird coming back…a huge yank on the emotional self..ties of family, home, friends.

Pettycur Bay

Pettycur Bay

I had a quiet day today and the Pettycur Bay magic calmed me to the core, so finally my headache dissipated, (Another 5* review for Ancasta on Amazon helped….I’m not reeeeally vain..I read the 3 & 4* reviews too to learn from them, honest) Then I went to visit a person who has become a dear friend in Kinghorn Harbour but was going away soon so I wanted to catch up with her.

Usually, when I drive back home here down to Pettycur, I pass no one, maybe one car so I was quite excited to come across this unusual gathering on the corner of the wee harbour. I rushed home to get the binoculars to confirm my guess just as runners started off across the sand towards Black Rocks a mile out in the bay, like little head lamps bobbing through the night. I watched mesmerised for a wee while and then checked on the internet. Here’s a post about the maddest run I’ve heard of. They call it The Blacker than Black Rock Race! I glanced up again. Wow… as they turn back, their white lights shining directly towards me, it’s as if they are running in formation, a moving star making patterns in the night. The first couple of runners are now on the path above the bay, chasing towards the finishing line. I resist the temptation to open the window and cheer. What a wonderful weird place I live in! The last couple of star lights are now heading for the shore….markers I expect to guide the way…it’s as if they’re homing in on me, unbeknown to them, welcoming me home to Pettycur and all my remaining angst vanished in the tranquil night.

About Diana Jackson

Author of 'The Healing Paths of Fife', Historical Romantic fiction ~ The Riduna Series set in 19th and early 20th Century a murder mystery ~ 'Murder, Now and Then' and two memoir. What links my books ~ history! Website:www.dianamaryjackson.co.uk Blog:www.dianamj.wordpress.com Riduna on Twitter and on Facebook too!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Here and Now, Life and Hope, Living the Dream and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

