A December stomp in wellies on the sand

It’s a glorious day. December 4th, but tomorrow the forecast is wind – gales in fact, rain and possibly snow up here, but today I look out on a tranquil scene. The tide is out, sky clear blue and everything is crisp as the last remnants of a haw frost melts.

DSCN0598[1]

I canna resist a day like today so I’ve put down my pen, metaphorically speaking, and I’m off!

…………………………….

DSCN0599[1]

…………………

That was great, exhilarating, an unexpected pleasure…To walk along the water’s edge, avoiding leaving those tell tale footprints – it’s as if I was all alone in the world with the sand and sea stretching ahead of me. I paddled for the fun of it and photographed the waves, the rippling sand and the lone jelly fish but then I just took the time to stand and gaze and enjoy the closeness to nature and the rawness of the air.

I looped around and back along the beach seeing the footprints of others before me then raced back up three floors, pulled off my wellies and I’m home, back in the warmth of our flat. I feel refreshed and ready to face the day.

Looking out of the window another lone stranger in a yellow coat is now enjoying the same pleasures, treading in my footsteps. He’s walked into the distance now and I can’t help but wonder what he is thinking, or is he just enjoying the moment like I did.  I’m pleased for him that he’s been blessed with the same peace that I had, with his only companion, his dog.

About Diana Jackson

Author of 'The Healing Paths of Fife', Historical Romantic fiction ~ The Riduna Series set in 19th and early 20th Century a murder mystery ~ 'Murder, Now and Then' and two memoir. What links my books ~ history! Website:www.dianamaryjackson.co.uk Blog:www.dianamj.wordpress.com Riduna on Twitter and on Facebook too!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Here and Now, Life and Hope, Living the Dream and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A December stomp in wellies on the sand

  1. Johnb838 says:

    Can you add a Blackberry template? This web page is tricky to read otherwise for those of us browsing with cell phones. Otherwise, in the event you can place a RSS link up, that would be good also. gaaeekfeeeec

  2. Johng753 says:

    I don’t usually comment but I gotta admit thanks for the post on this great one gkekdfkkekdd

Leave a Reply

