Weather Warning ~ Tidal Waves? ~nine months on

(Just a quick note to explain that I have been living in Fife much of the past year but, since we had to leave our Bedfordshire home empty. Thus I was reluctant to share about my life at the time so here is the story continued ~ nine months on. Whether we return to Fife is uncertain. For the moment it is just pleasant to stop still for a while and settle back down south. What I know is that our time in Fife was so special that we will be back ~ even if it is just to visit)

November 2013 ~ After yesterdays lovely weather it was stormy overnight. The wind literally sang its way through the night as I snuggled further under the duvet. Strangely enough I slept quite well, but the ferocious storm hadn’t abated when my husband left for work today so he phoned to say he’d got there safely.

Then everything here went decidedly quiet. The pools of water on the beach looked like glass and the sky was icy blue. I worked. The storm gathered a pace as I noticed them deliver a pile of sandbags below. Was it for downstairs in case of the threatened DSCN0610[1]tidal flood or for the roads in case of ice and snow? No idea. I was aware that there was nobody else at home.

DSCN0609[1]The storm gathered a pace, wind, dark clouds, lashing rain and then snow…a blizzard. Fortunately the tide wasn’t at its highest. I paniced a bit and sent and email to my husband, feeling a bit of a fool half an hour later when the sun came out and it was a bit choppy out there but nothing more.

This afternoon at high tide I ventured out to the harbour to take my recycling…I just wanted to check to see if anyone had placed sandbags at the doors too, but no-one had. We are in a third floor flat so I was just being neighbourly.

The tideline was nearly up to the road and the harbour looked tiny and vulnerable. Were those seals I could see bobbig about? I wasn’t sure. I don’t think so. I’ve noticed the beach has disappeared too. We have an eerie calm again as the sun goes down revealing a beautiful sunset.  They say you can have all four seasons in one day here. I can quite believe it!

I’ll let you know if anything happens next.

About Diana Jackson

Author of 'The Healing Paths of Fife', Historical Romantic fiction ~ The Riduna Series set in 19th and early 20th Century a murder mystery ~ 'Murder, Now and Then' and two memoir. What links my books ~ history! Website:www.dianamaryjackson.co.uk Blog:www.dianamj.wordpress.com Riduna on Twitter and on Facebook too!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Here and Now, Living the Dream, Memoirs, Strange but True and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

