New Home ~ New Friends

DSCN0481(9 months on) Today I met up with two local ladies who introduced me to life in Kinghorn and all the activities I could become involved in. We met for a cup of tea at the Wee Shoppe – a harbour cafe on Kinghorn Beach where people while away hours of chat, gossip, politics and good cheer. I am so fortunate to have made friends within moments of arriving here. If I am not careful though, I could be busy every day and I need to find a balance between being sociable and working. After all, I’ve been given this precious gift of time to focus on my writing and a fantastic place to be for inspiration.

I have decided on a routine of catching up with the internet when my husband leaves for work at 6.50 am then spending the rest of the morning writing, or the lengthy task of reading and proof reading my murder mystery manuscript. Should I begin the third of my Riduna Series here in Kinghorn? I’m not so sure. We’ll see.

After a light lunch, as long as the weather is fine, lunch will be followed by a walk up to the high street to do the shopping, meet up with friends for a cup of  tea and a chat or a trip to the nearby town of Kirkcaldy. For the first couple of weeks there’s lots to buy to make this flat into our home.

Back home for more writerly activities, marketing etc before preparing a meal. For the last few nights we have taken a stroll along the harbour in the evening when my husband has arrived home from work. It’s a lovely time for him to talk, unwind and relax and for us to feel the magic of Pettycur together. Do you know, he never talked to me like this in Bedfordshire. He’d eat, then fall asleep on the sofa and that would be that. Here we are both so much more alive. Fresh sea air, exercise and fresh natural food. All good for us!

Each weekend we have decided to try to walk part of the coastal path. So far we have been blessed with at least one fine day during the weekend. Aberdour – Burntisland  – Dysart  – West Wymess – all places we are beginning to know and love. We’re getting to know the route on the local train too. Do you think we might walk all the way to St Andrews during our stay here? I hope so. I had never heard of the Fife Coastal Path until we moved here but at each turn we discover new treasures!

About Diana Jackson

Author of 'The Healing Paths of Fife', Historical Romantic fiction ~ The Riduna Series set in 19th and early 20th Century a murder mystery ~ 'Murder, Now and Then' and two memoir. What links my books ~ history! Website:www.dianamaryjackson.co.uk Blog:www.dianamj.wordpress.com Riduna on Twitter and on Facebook too!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Here and Now, Life and Hope, Living the Dream, Memoirs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Home ~ New Friends

  1. Cate Macabe says:

    I can see how your new home could be an inspiration…and a distraction!

  2. Certainly was an inspiration Cate. I could spend ages dreaming out of the window but I’m quite disciplined usually

Leave a Reply

