Living the Dream ~ Nine Months on

Several years ago I said to my husband, if you would like to live by the sea then get a job there and we’ll go! Never dear readers give your partner such a challenge unless you are prepared to go through with it.

You see I had a good job, family and friends including my parents all living close by and a lovely home too which we had renovated over the last seven years. You know how these things go! What more could I wish for?

We were in a bit of a rut though and talked about both of us having a sabbatical. I’d even asked my head of department about it and then his work moved him to Scotland; Dunfermline to be precise. For the first few months he commuted, coming back to Bedfordshire at weekends on Easyjet until the weekend I’d planned to go up there…just to see….was it a possibility….a change for me….and he didn’t have to travel that week.

The Friday afternoon of my flight we are all called to a meeting. Redundancies. Finances were tough. They were asking for volunteers at first. I flew to Edinburgh in a daze. It seemed a sign. I didn’t have any choice really, which made the decision easier.

We enjoyed the weekend, visiting lovely places on the Fife coast like Lower Largo where we had lunch on the Saturday, Anstruther where we hoped to get fish and chips but the queue was so long that we went to the one up the road and St Andrews.

The next day we went over the Forth road bridge and along the other shore, back over the old bridge and along through Charleston, having a lovely lunch in The Elgin Hotel. We sat outside afterwards just talking and thinking. We’d had some sad news that a friend of my husband had died in his late 50’s. It seemed another sign and yet, though we’d liked the area we hadn’t discovered that place we’d really like to live, and call home, even if only for a year. Should he just retire a year early instead? What should we do?

I went back home, submitted my application for voluntary redundancy and waited to see what the outcome would be whilst my husband returned to his work down in Bedfordshire. No answers only questions.

Over the next few months I hope you will enjoy sharing this journey with me in retrospect, nine months on. For many reasons I was not able to tell the world at the time, though I was bursting to do so at times as I ‘lived the dream’. Having said that, life was not without the occasional challenges and low spots, as you will see. 

About Diana Jackson

Author of 'The Healing Paths of Fife', Historical Romantic fiction ~ The Riduna Series set in 19th and early 20th Century a murder mystery ~ 'Murder, Now and Then' and two memoir. What links my books ~ history! Website:www.dianamaryjackson.co.uk Blog:www.dianamj.wordpress.com Riduna on Twitter and on Facebook too!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Here and Now, Life and Hope, Living the Dream, Memoirs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

