Writing Process Blog Hop

Hi Folks

I am really happy that my friend and blogger Pat Ruppel has asked me to take part in a writing blog hop. I apologise that it is a bit delayed since she first asked me but I think it is a lovely opportunity to read about other bloggers and their work and share the good news of what we do.

All our voices are unique; reaching out to people in special but very different ways.

Writing Process Blog Hop ~ How it Works

First I’d like to introduce you to Pat Ruppel at “Plain Talk and Ordinary Wisdom”

Next I will answer four questions about my own writing and finally I will introduce you to the next people I’ve chosen to pass on the baton.

Welcome Pat Ruppel:Profile (9)_processed_compressed

Is it possible to make a difference in the world? Pat believes there is. One way is through writing to inspire and warm the heart. That’s what she hopes to do on her site at “Plain Talk and Ordinary Wisdom” by extending trust in sharing personal kitchen-table stories.

People always seem more comfortable wherever food and drinks are served, whether inside where it’s warm and cozy or out on the patio. We go to where we’re most relaxed to catch up on the latest with family and friends or open up to explore conversations with new people. That’s when magic happens.

Pat believes, if we could find common ground and talk, whether it’s around a kitchen table or in writing a story, anything is possible. If there are problems or life issues, she thinks most could be resolved, if we could find where we most identify with one another and trust to tell our story.

Kitchen-Table Stories to Enjoy

The desire to connect and learn how differently people react and their opinion of things interest Pat. It probably comes from when she facilitated talking-stick workshops for her employer back in the late ‘90’s /2000’s. She’s always wondered why people have different attitudes in their approach to what they do and how they feel about life. Where does it come from and what is their story?
It is her hope that you’ll pull up a chair, kick back and join her at her kitchen table at “Plain Talk and Ordinary Wisdom”, with a few examples of featured stories below. Maybe, they will warm your heart and take you to a similar place — familiar memory — or trigger a feeling within where you could tell your own story.

Ghost Stories From An Old House (http://plaintalkandordinarywisdom.com/ghost-stories-from-an-old-house/) ― It was the home where my mother grew up in a small beach town in Virginia, situated on main street and only 2 blocks from downtown. You wouldn’t think the house would be “haunted” just to look at it.

Young Love to Old Love (http://plaintalkandordinarywisdom.com/young-love-to-old-love/) ― Well, it’s official.  We are now the elder couple with white hair walking down the street holding hands.  I remember when I was in my dating years or married and chasing to my next errand I’d see an older couple holding hands and think, “Awhh, isn’t that nice. I’d like to be doing that someday.”

A Talking Stick and a Poem (http://plaintalkandordinarywisdom.com/a-talking-stick-and-a-poem) ― A post I read today from a fellow blogger, John Cali, started me thinking. He was asking the question, “How Do You Know If You Are Making a Positive Difference in People’s Lives?” Have you ever thought of that or, maybe, you’ve thought, “What’s the point to what I’m doing?” I remembered, one time, when I was shown how a talking-stick and a poem can make a difference. Here’s my story.

You can contact Pat @

Blog – Plain Talk and Ordinary Wisdom — http://plaintalkandordinarywisdom.com

Facebook Page — http://www.facebook.com/PlainTalkAndOrdinaryWisdom

Twitter —  https://twitter.com/pcrupp1928

LinkedIn – http://www.linkedin.com/pub/pat-ruppel/0/834/6b7

Google+ – https://plus.google.com/+Plaintalkandordinarywisdom/posts

Now my four answers:

1. What am I working on?

On 22nd April 2014 I launched my third novel, ‘MURDER, Now and Then,’ a murder mystery set between 1919 and 2019 mainly in the heart of Bedfordshire.  It’s been an exciting project for me including a book cover contest by the students at North Herts College. (hence the main reason for the delay in this post)

Murder nowthen final modify 1

Following that I aim to publish a personal memoir – travel – fantasy! Lots of soul searching and fun, based on my own life’s journey – a snap shot of which I will be sharing on this blog starting may 1st 2014.

2. How does my work differ from others in the genre?

My murder mystery not only includes flash backs to the past – an unsolved murder back in 1919, but it is set in the future – in 2019. Gradually, a murder in 1919 becomes intermingled with the current crime, as descendants are pulled in to the plot. It has been such an enjoyable book to write because it  draws on my love of history, family history and the complexity of relationships.

3. How does your writing process work?

Following the publication of two historical fiction in my ‘Riduna Series’ I became distracted by a pressing engagement to record the life story of a 103 year old friend Norman. Whilst gathering the material for this memoir I stumbled upon a local unsolved murder and the seed of Murder, Now and Then began to grow until I couldn’t ignore it. I do still plan to write the third and final book in my series but fate has played its part yet again and taken me on a bit of a journey. To answer the question. Ideas do tend to lead me forward, but for the publishing side of my work I know I should be more objective and organised, but I’m learning all the time.

4.  Share fellow writers I enjoy reading.

JTJ T Weaver

J T Weaver

JT was born and raised on Cape Cod.  He is married and has two children, two grandchildren, and one more on the way.  Without any previous writing experience, he began his blog J T Weaver in January 2013 with the idea of expressing some opinions about life and documenting some stories of his experiences for his children.

Now, 117 stories later, he has published a memoir for his children consisting of 45 stories and numerous pictures called Uphill Both Ways.   He has won numerous WordPress awards including the Freshly Pressed Award for one of his stories.  He has been happily retired since 2006.

You can connect with him at:
Blog:  J T Weaver
Email: jtweaver@jtweaver.net

 

CateMac2Cate Macabe

Cate developed a love of reading early on – it was the perfect escape for a shy and introverted child. Reading led to imagining fictional characters in new situations, and that led naturally to writing and creating my own worlds, along with the characters that inhabit them. She wrote short stories in grade school and middle school but never thought to pursue this love of writing and make it a career until mid-life. During those intervening years, Cate served in the military, raised four children and studied computer programming and accounting. Then a story about a family marooned on a desert planet began to form her my mind and brought Cate back to her first love.

Fantasy and science fiction are the genres she enjoys writing the most (as KL Wagoner).

She says, ‘There is something exciting about having a strange world spill out of my brain and onto paper, and then grow into a very real place with a history of its own. Some of these tales fit perfectly into short stories or novellas, and others stretch out to fill novels or a whole series of them. On occasion I write an essay, and I keep busy putting together nonfiction articles for my two blogs.’

In a departure from speculative fiction, Cate wrote the memoir This New Mountain for private investigator and grandmother AJ Jackson. She first met AJ when they both worked for the same attorney.

Cate writes, ‘AJ always paused in her rush through the office to tell me the latest adventures of a repo-woman/process server/private eye. Her stories were so remarkable, it wasn’t long before I offered to write AJ’s memoir – and so began a twelve-year journey that culminated in the publication of This New Mountain (Casa de Snapdragon Publishing) in 2012.’

When Cate is not reading or writing,  she enjoys going on Lego adventures with her nine-year-old granddaughter, taking long hikes in the foothills of the Sandia Mountains, and spending time with her newly-retired husband.

You can connect with Cate at:

Her blog for memoir: http://thisnewmountain.com/blog/

Her blog for speculative fiction: http://klwagoner.wordpress.com/

ps There were many others I asked to join us today, but they did not have the time, changed their minds or it wasn’t the right moment. Since I was also dealing with a book launch I must admit that I did not have any free time to do the chasing, but I wanted to reflect authors who fit into the ethos of this blog of true stories. I am so grateful to Pat for being wonderfully supportive and patient and for Cate and JT for carrying on the baton. Do visit their blogs to see what they are up to. They are all lovely people!

 

 

 

About Diana Jackson

Author of 'The Healing Paths of Fife', Historical Romantic fiction ~ The Riduna Series set in 19th and early 20th Century a murder mystery ~ 'Murder, Now and Then' and two memoir. What links my books ~ history! Website:www.dianamaryjackson.co.uk Blog:www.dianamj.wordpress.com Riduna on Twitter and on Facebook too!
Gallery | This entry was posted in A Message, Events, Here and Now, Memoirs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Writing Process Blog Hop

  1. Pat says:

    Congratulations on your writing process blog hop, Diana. It’s interesting to read about your writing process and the passion of your projects. I enjoyed learning how your books evolved as the material was gathered. I admire your courage on how you can take on different types of writing and can switch back and forth between with seemingly little effort.

    Thank you, Diana, for joining me in this writing process blog hop. I’m looking forward to checking out your tagged fellow writers and learning more about them.

  2. Many thanks Pat. I have hopped genre in the last couple of years more by fate than design. It is overwhelming at times and now I look back on the first couple of years with a publishing company, it was so easy then, but I enjoy the challenge and have learnt so much. It’s a pleasure to be part of a hop like this and take a look at a variety of blogs, all so very different. Many thanks for asking me. Dianax

    • Pat says:

      Hi Diana – just wanted you to know I tried clicking on JT’s link and it doesn’t seem to work. 🙂

      • Thanks for letting me know Pat. Hopefully it’s sorted now. It seems to work now anyway, although the address looked the same. Maybe there was an extra space or something. thanks again Diana

      • Pat says:

        Got it, Diana. It’s working now and I was able to get to his site. Thank you.

      • Excellent Pat. I always try to check but that one slipped me by. Thanks for letting me know. JT writes some interesting and warm posts which I’m sure you will enjoy. Dx

      • Pat says:

        I can see that, Diana, and can relate to how he wants to record his stories for his children. I like that and I’m looking forward to getting to know him. Thank You!

  3. Cate Macabe says:

    Thank you, Diana, for including me in your blog hop. I’ve enjoyed following the links backward and reading about where people came from, where they are now, and what motivates them to write and blog. I’ll continue the hop next month.

  4. J T Weaver says:

    Thanks Diana, this was great fun. I’ll continue the ‘hop’ with three more interesting bloggers as well.

  5. Excellent JT. You’re a star!

Leave a Reply

