Little Things Please…Emoticons Please help!

🙂 ….This morning I had one of those creative wobbles and I thought I’d write a post about it, but my hands are tied, you see. Everything I’m doing at the moment is part of a secret journey, most of which is truly exciting and, as many of you have heard me say in hints along the way, I cannot share it with you at the moment. The time is soon approaching though, and in May I will publish a series of posts followed by a wee book.

The moment is a bitter sweet one for me because, on the one hand I will be set free to share with you, but on the other my journey will have come to an end.

Cogitating on the dichotomy of this dilemma I stumbled upon an email from WordPress and I thank them wholeheartedly that soon I was giggling, all woes forgotten.

They’ve added emoticons. :-0

I looked at the instructions in tools, writing – ticked the box and clicked ‘save changes’. I opened a new post and typed 🙂 pressed enter and…nothing happened. Undeterred I saved the draft and checked at the preview. Low and behold my punctuation had changed automatically! Magic 😉

😕 Now comes the difficult bit. I don’t know which punctuation for the desired emoticon, so I’m having a bit of a play here. :-/

Ah, I can see :-0 doesn’t work. How about :-O or 😛     ?

I can see I could be experimenting all day but I’ve got a writing to do, so I’ll finish with 😀 and :-Z and :-!

Now I thought I’d guessed right there. You ‘win some and you lose some. :-/

If anyone can point me to a helpful page to show where I am going wrong I’d be most grateful. I’d better get back to work now 😉

 

 

About Diana Jackson

Author of 'The Healing Paths of Fife', Historical Romantic fiction ~ The Riduna Series set in 19th and early 20th Century a murder mystery ~ 'Murder, Now and Then' and two memoir. What links my books ~ history! Website:www.dianamaryjackson.co.uk Blog:www.dianamj.wordpress.com Riduna on Twitter and on Facebook too!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Here and Now, Life and Hope and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

