Norman ~ A Hearty Breakfast to begin the day!

I am so pleased to introduce to you to Susie, Norman’s carer in the last few years of his life. It was Susi who introduced Norman to computing and was his personal tutor when he learnt to send emails and to use Skype at the age of 102! Here Susi shares insights into not only Norman’s breakfast eating habits but his character. I hope you love reading it as much as I did!
“Norman had a routine for breakfast.  Everything had to be done in the right The_Life_and_Demise__Cover_for_Kindleorder and had to be “just so” as I am sure you can imagine!
Firstly I would make a cup of tea and take it up to him in bed – with his teeth!!  He would then get up put the teeth in and drink his tea!
Once downstairs breakfast would consist of (in this order):
1.   Fruit:   Apricots (only 2).   Prunes (only 3).  And a sliced banana.
(Whilst eating this, I would put his porridge on to steam.)
2.  Then he would have egg and toast.  He decided each morning how the egg would come, boiled, fried or scrambled.  Always had one piece of toast only.
3.   Then once finished he would take his medicine with a glass of orange juice.  All the tablets would get taken out of the boxes and lined up in front of him – I guess he would have then them in a particular order knowing him!
4.    Once taken, the porridge would be perfectly timed to be dished out at this time.  He liked a teaspoon of sugar on top.
I don’t recall him having another cup of tea except on the odd occasion. I remember leaving the house having given him a fresh mug but this wasn’t every day.  Also I think he sometimes had cereal with the fruit too but my memory is a bit lax on that point.
It took me a few occasions to get things just right – and believe me they had to be right!  He wasn’t afraid to tick me off if I did the preparation in the wrong way.
What a man!  I think to have lived with him would have been quite difficult as he was so controlling but for the time I knew him I found him adorable and have such lovely memories of our time together.”
Many thanks to Susi for sharing these memories of Norman. Is this Norman’s secret to living a long life?…a hearty breakfast. He certainly believed it was the most important meal of the day.
It did make me laugh though!
What do you eat for breakfast?
About Diana Jackson

Author of 'The Healing Paths of Fife', Historical Romantic fiction ~ The Riduna Series set in 19th and early 20th Century a murder mystery ~ 'Murder, Now and Then' and two memoir. What links my books ~ history! Website:www.dianamaryjackson.co.uk Blog:www.dianamj.wordpress.com Riduna on Twitter and on Facebook too!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Early 21st Century, Norman, The Life and Demise of Norman Campbell and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Norman ~ A Hearty Breakfast to begin the day!

  1. tmewalsh says:

    Wow. There’s no way I could eat all that for breakfast everyday! He sounds like he was quite a character.

  2. It’s the counting of the apricots and prunes that makes me laugh

  3. Pat says:

    They must be the keys to longevity, Diana — a hearty breakfast and having things your way. Love it. They don’t make ’em like they used to and he’s sorely missed, I’m sure.

  4. He was certainly one in a million Pat, literally, although I think he took a bit of getting used to for Susi:-)

  5. Thanks for the award Pat. You follow some interesting blogs I must check out too. They all sound heart warming but that’s the kind of person you are:-)

  6. jameswharris says:

    Now I’m curious what Norman ate for lunch and supper. If I ever perfect my diet, I wonder if I’ll be as fussy as Norman was when I’m an ancient old man. Great story.

    • Hi James I know he enjoyed a good and healthy lunch but ate less later in the day. A sound habit since you store less fat and sleep better that way. On a previous post I talked of how he’d walk upstairs to go to the loo rather to make sure he got some exercise right up until he was 103! Thought you’d be amused! all the best Diana

Leave a Reply

