‘It’s all in Your Head’ ~ A Poignant True Story by Maria McCutchen

Maria is a fighter and here is her story:

When I was diagnosed with a rare brain cyst known as a Posterior Fossa Arachnoid Cyst, I was devastated — frightened, and devastated. I had no idea what it all meant to have a cyst on my brain; and not just a little cyst, but a cyst that consumed over a third of my brain. All I knew, was that I was having a lot of strange things happen to me; strange symptoms that had me scared, confused, and feeling like slowly but surely, my body was failing me and I was dying.

I was 35 years old and the mother of 2 young boys, then ages 6 and 4, when I got the diagnosis. Only 35 years old and I was losing my health, and I was losing myself, at what felt like record speeds. One strange symptom after another was developing, causing me to have to see doctor after doctor on a regular basis. The cyst was causing me to live in constant fear for what was happening to me; and what was worse, what would happen to me.

In 2004, when all my symptoms began, I had no idea of the journey I was about to embark on. I had no idea of the road I was about to take with the many twists and turns; hills and valleys, for I couldn’t see the future. No, I couldn’t have known, for no one knows their future. The road; as long and treacherous as it seemed when it started, ended up being even harder and more difficult than I ever thought it would be. It has been an ongoing, never-ending battle in one way or another, for my health and my life for the past 9 years.

A lot has happened both medically and personally since that fateful day in 2004. One thing is that my boys have grown a lot; now ages (almost) 15 and 12. I’ve grown, as well. I’ve grown as a person. I’ve also become an author. I decided I wanted to tell my story to help others; so I wrote, “It’s all in Your Head,” which was published in 2011. Telling my story was my way of giving back to others; especially those living with similar medical issues as myself.

For the past 9 years I feel like all I have done is fight; fight for my health, and fight for my life. Today, I still fight for my health, and in the midst of my fight, I’ve had to find a new normal. One new normal for me, is that I have since gone through a divorce. A couple of years ago, my husband confessed that he’d lost his compassion for what I’ve been left to live with. So we divorced; which left me trying to figure out a new normal — how to be a single mom to my boys, in my condition. However; eventually I did find that new normal, and although it is difficult, I am managing.

Everyone has a battle. Though my battles may be more difficult than some, I know that there are battles even harder than mine. So I try to be thankful. I try to find even little things to be thankful for. Although I do find the little things to be thankful, there is definitely one big thing I am thankful for. And that is; that today, I am still here. Today, I am here to see my boys grow another day.

I would like to thank Maria for sharing part of her story with you and you can order

‘It’s all in Your Head’ on Amazon HERE

Maria is on FACEBOOK too

Our thoughts are with you Maria

About Diana Jackson

Author of 'The Healing Paths of Fife', Historical Romantic fiction ~ The Riduna Series set in 19th and early 20th Century a murder mystery ~ 'Murder, Now and Then' and two memoir. What links my books ~ history! Website:www.dianamaryjackson.co.uk Blog:www.dianamj.wordpress.com Riduna on Twitter and on Facebook too!
This entry was posted in Here and Now, Life and Hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

